Tell a Friend

          Student Union  

The literary bonanza for the academic year 2012-13 unfurled on 5th September with the oath-taking ceremony administered by the chief guest Prof. Mrs. Jasmine Robertson, M.A., M.Phil., Head of the Department of History(Rtd), Margoshis College at Pillaiyamanai.

This inaugural program presided over by our Principal-in-charge Mrs. R. Aruna Jothi, M.A., M.Phil., inducted the following student representatives for steering ahead the Literary Association of the Department of English with renewed spirit under the guidance of Ms.M.Mangalaeswari, L/English, as its Staff Secretary.

 • Student Secretary - Katheeja Fazeela S.O. III B.A

• Assitant Secretary - Muthu Mufliha M.S. II B.A  

Activities for the academic year 2012-13

1.    Guest Lecture on Orientalism 

The fledgling researchers need a mentor like Prof. Xavier Beskey,M.A.,M.Phil., Associate Professor/English, Aditanar College of Arts and Science,Tiruchendur to facilitate and strengthen their views and knowledge on mind-boggling theories like Orientalism. The guest lecture organized on September 17,2012 for our I M.A. students on Edward Said’s Orientalism served its purpose.

2.   Short story writing

On September 21,2012, a short story writing competition was conducted on the topic Stone Walls Generate Heat; Rose Garden Brings Rain. The following students received wide acclamation as winners.  

N.S.H.Yasmin Farhana III B.A. - I Prize

S.O.Katheeja Fazeela III B.A -II Prize

S.Anis Fathima II M.A - III Prize

S.A.Muthu Lakshmi III B.A -III Prize

3.    Verse Writing Competitions

Competitions always enliven and enhance the creative spirit of the students. A verse writing competition organized on September 24,2012 on the topic Beauty is Truth; Truth Beauty enthralled many student participants and among these enthusiastic participants the following students established themselves by receiving the first three places.

Katheeja Fazeela S.O. , III B.A. - I Prize

Katheeja Safana A.M., I M.A. - II Prize

Hameedha Sanofar , I M.A. - III Prize

Copyright-2013. All right reserved.